Scoring a Team Race - OCS

19.02.18 02:57 AM Comment(s) By Keith Sammons

Everyone knows that in a team race, the boat in 1st gets 1 point, the boat in 2nd gets 2 points, (etc.) and the team with the fewest points wins.

However, what happens to boats that are OCS, do not start or retire? Looking at the rule book you will find:

D3.1 (a) Each boat finishing a race shall be scored points equal to her finishing place. All other boats shall be scored points equal to the number of boats entitled to race.
D3.1 (b)When a boat is scored OCS, 10 points shall be added to her score unless she retired as soon as possible after the starting signal.

Therefore, in 3 boat team racing: If a boat doesn't start, retires during the race, or fails to finish correctly they are scored 6 points.
If a boat is OCS and does not return, they are given their finishing position and 10 points is added to their score.

It is worth noting that this is different from what you would do in fleet racing which does sometimes create confusion for those who are new to team racing.
Added to cart
- There was an error adding to cart. Please try again.